'Trigger laws' are currently in force in 13 states regarding abortion

the Nation's highest court is considering overturning the landmark 1973 case that secured abortion rights.

The draft, confirmed by the Supreme Court this week

There are such laws in Arkansas, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.

Some of these laws have been in place for more than 15 years, such as South Dakota's 2005 trigger law,

District of Columbia have passed laws codifying the right to abortion.

but others have been introduced recently, such as the similar bill signed by Oklahoma Gov. Kevin Stitt last month.

23 states and territories will ban abortions immediately if Roe v. Wade is overturned.

Furthermore, a recent Connecticut bill broadened the list of medical professionals who can perform the procedure there.

Thanks for reading

For more web stories